I have no clue. Before the holidays, I had knee and backproblems and during the holidays, visiting family in England and The Netherlands, I ran once.
Back home at my parents, it was freezing, but I wanted to do 'something'. In Spain you feel like you belong to some sort of secret group, as I thought walking to the beach yesterday, and viewing the many many runners around here treding past me. I love that feeling, like you are an insider and think to yourself "I'm a runner too" when you see the others passing by. You simple belong.
In Holland however, I was the only one out on the freezing cold morning after Christmas. Although I had thought of dressing properly for the cold, I couldn't help but feeling like an idiot, being the only one. I didn't belong. I was a 'freak'. People just don't run in Holland. They don't need to exercise, because they eat healthy and cook their own meals, cycle everywhere - from work to do the groceries to go out clubbing. In case of actually going to the gym or following some sort of class, it's all indoors. The weather simply doesn't allow much outdoor activities as it's either too cold or too rainy. I knew all this ofcourse, but I couldn't help feeling dissapointed about it.
Being home in Spain for a week, I've done nothing. And I miss it. Can't wait to start running again.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment